Rennet was discovered around 5.000 B.C. when nomads stored milk in the stomach of ruminant animals for transportation. Chymosin and Pepsin (digestive enzymes) in the stomach coagulated the milk, inadvertently contributing to the first production of cheese. Rennet is instrumental in creating the curds and whey that are the result of coagulated milk.
The first commercial, standardized rennet was introduced by Chr Hansen in 1874. At that time, rennet was extracted from calves or adult bovine stomachs using rudimentary methods. Milking calves produce high levels of chymosin while adult cows produce higher pepsin content.
As high pepsin content results in bitterness, most cheese producers desire rennet with a high chymosin, low pepsin content. New technologies have been implemented such that today’s modern rennet producers are able to control the chymosin/pepsin ratio and strength.
Traditional rennet may be used in Halal, Organic and GMO-Free products but is not suitable for Kosher or Vegetarian products.
Dosage: 2.5ml per 10 litres of milk.